Columbus Wage and Hour Attorney
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to pay hourly employees at least $7.25 per hour, unless the employees fall under the category of tipped employees, in which case, they must be paid $4.08 per hour. Ohio’s minimum wage, on the other hand, is much higher at $8.30 for non-tipped employees and $4.15 for tipped workers. Fortunately for Ohio employees, under federal law, when a state’s minimum wage rate is higher than the federal standard, employers are required to pay their workers the higher of the two amounts.
In addition to paying a minimum wage, employers who compensate workers on an hourly basis must also pay their employees at one and one-half times their usual rate for every hour worked in excess of 40 hours a week. Employers who fail to pay their employees accordingly can be held liable for damages, so if you are not being paid the minimum wage, or are not being compensated for your overtime hours, please contact our Columbus wage and hour legal team today for advice.
State Minimum Wage Laws
As a result of a constitutional amendment passed in 2006, Ohio’s minimum wage is adjusted every year based on current and projected inflation rates. For instance, in January, the state’s minimum wage of $8.30 per hour for non-tipped employees and $4.15 for tipped employees, will be raised to $8.55 and $4.30 respectively. These rates will apply to all employers in the state who earn a gross annual income of $314,000 or more.
Employers who fail to pay their employees in accordance with these rates can be required to compensate wronged employees with back pay and benefits, so if you are not being paid the minimum wage, please call us today to learn more about filing a claim with the U.S. Department of Labor or the Ohio Division of Labor.
State Overtime Laws
According to both state and federal law, employees who are paid on an hourly basis must be compensated at a rate of one and one-half times their usual wage for every hour worked in excess of 40 hours a week. This means that with the current minimum wage in Ohio set at $8.30 per hour, hourly employees must be paid no less than $12.45 per hour for any time worked over 40 hours per week if they:
- Earn less than $455 a week; and
- Work in a non-exempt position.
There are four main categories under which an Ohio employee can be considered exempt from the state’s overtime laws, including the executive, administrative, professional, and outside salespeople employee categories. Babysitters, farm and agricultural workers, newspaper deliverers, independent contractors, employers’ immediate family members, and those who work in the transportation, housekeeping, or nonprofit children’s camp industries are also exempt from overtime requirements.
Call Today to Schedule a Consultation with an Experienced Wage and Hour Attorney
For help determining whether you are being paid in accordance with the state’s minimum wage and overtime laws, please contact one of the dedicated Columbus wage and hour attorneys at Marshall & Forman, LLC by calling (614) 463-9790 or by completing the contact form on our website.