Trusted Columbus Employment Lawyers Handling Wage And Hour Violations With Experience
State and federal law both require employers to comply with certain laws regarding minimum wage and overtime pay. Employers who fail to conform to these standards can be required to compensate injured employees for their losses.
If you are not being paid the appropriate wage, you should speak to an employment attorney who can evaluate your case.
In Ohio, the minimum wage for most workers is set at $8.15 per hour. There are some exceptions to this rule, for example tipped employees who can be paid at a lower hourly rate. There are additional exceptions that allow certain employers to pay less than the minimum wage, so if you have questions or concerns about your own wage, you should speak to an employment attorney to determine if you are being paid correctly.
Employees are prohibited from working more than 40 hours a week unless they receive overtime for the additional shifts. The standard rate of overtime is one and one-half times a person’s regular rate of pay for every extra hour worked. Employers who fail to properly pay overtime can be required to provide the employee with back pay, liquidated damages, court costs, and attorney’s fees.
Neither the FLSA, nor Ohio law require employers to provide employees with regular rest or meal breaks. However, if an employer chooses to provide workers with breaks, employees must be compensated if the break period is not at least 30 minutes long or if they are required to perform work during their designated break period.
Call to Speak to an Attorney about Improper Pay
Ohio residents are guaranteed the right to receive a minimum wage and overtime pay by both federal and state law. Employers who fail to pay their employees fairly can be required to compensate them for back pay, court costs, and attorney’s fees. If you think you are being paid incorrectly, please call us to speak to an attorney about your legal options.